Trying to identify the year and Manufacturer of "Old Grandpa" bottle. I'm a Novice

edited January 2018 in Question and Answer

Hello, my name is Jamie Crawford and I'm from the upstate of South Carolina. I've very recently started my new hobby of locating vintage/antique glassware. I'm not a drinking Man, but I've located a few older looking bottles. I started with cleaning only 3 and trying to identify them. However, the first one seemed like it was going to be easy but has quickly turned into my nemesis. The brand is called "Old Grand-DaD". I've looked everywhere that I know to look (which are very few places because I just started), but I can't find any bottle that resembles mine. The bottle is clear with the long seams running from the bottom all the way up to the lip. On the front, it only has the brand name. The back is embossed with the saying "HALF PINT FEDERAL LAW FORBIDS SALE OR RE-USE OF THIS BOTTLE". On the bottom of the bottle, it has the following numbers: 18 and 5565. Then a letter with numbers following: D1 and L-8000. Finally, the best I can tell is the letter I with a circle around it. It's more than likely a common bottle and I just don't have the knowledge or know the proper resources to help identify the year it was made, and who the bottler is.