Help With Identifying Bottle & Maker Info

Hi, Im new here and hope someone can help, as I found alot of good info so thanks in advance and please excuse my lack of knowledge Ive been researching bottles for past week due to a small collection of my grandfathers and hope someone can help on this bottle.

Ive been told this is an extremely rare bottle because of the bottle company, the stopper, and the type of bottle.
Manhattan Bottling Co 342 Manhattan Ave Brooklyn N.Y. Registered, and 1 pint with the monogram is on the back. Ive found the company was founded in 1895, and was the maker of the manhattan special. I cant find any info or examples of any bottles they made anywhere. Any help on any history or what kind of beverage the bottle was for is welcome.

The stopper says Hutter for New York Germany, which Im told is a rare lightning stopper on this kind of bottle. Again me being a novice, I dont know what the proper term is for the kind of bottle( pontil, hutch, attatched etc, I admit my confusion.

Any help is welcome to explain what kind of bottle I have here, and if indeed is is as rare as Im told. And any idea of its value. Ive been able to identify a few blob tops, and a hutch in the collection from researching, but this one has me stumped. Thanks in advance for any help. More pics available.

imageimageimage

Comments

• Hi and thanks for posting such great photos.

Your bottle appears to be in excellent condition.

Note your bottle has a lip made for a crown top closure (still in use today on beer bottles) but is fitted incorrectly with a Lightning stopper. While possibly used that way at one time, it was not so originally.

Age-wise, if the mold seam runs to the very top of the lip, this is machine made and would date from, most likely, the 1920s or 30s. If the mold seam stops, then it is slightly older. The crown closure was patented in 1892.